Meanderings of an Amateur Linguist

Just me and my languages – a dangerous combonation

Volapük: Lesson 2/Volapük: Tiodem Tel

Posted by ILuvEire on December 1, 2008

Volapük is a heavily agglutinative language as I’m sure you know. Each noun can be declined in the Nominative, Dative, Genitive, and Accusative cases. I will abbreviate them as nom., dat., gen., and acc. in the rest of this lesson. The other abbreviations I will be using are pl., and sing..

Nom:
The nom. sing. doesn’t really have a declension. It is the base for forming all of the other declensions.
The nom. pl. uses the suffix -s.

Acc:
Acc. sing. uses the suffix -i
Acc. pl. uses -is

Dat:
Dat. sing. is -e
Dat. pl. is -es

Gen:
Gen. sing. is -a
Gen. pl. is -as

A fully declined noun:
Squirrel:
Nom. Sing. Yat
Nom. pl. Yats
Acc. sing. Yati
Acc. pl. Yatis
Dat. sing. Yate
Dat. pl. Yates
Gen. sing. Yata
Gen. pl. Yatas

Articles
Volapük doesn’t use articles for “native words” (real Volapük words). Words that don’t have Volapük equivalents, and ones that wont be transliterated use a “dummy article”. Called el. It is declined instead of the word itself.

This is usually only used for place names. For example using my name (Tyler), I don’t call myself el Tyler. When people are going to see me they say Kileke, not ele Tyler (using the transliteration of my name into Hawaiian, Kileki, and deleting the i).
Example:
el New York
els New York

eli New York
elis New York

ela New York
elas New York

ele New York
eles New York

Exercises:
Decline the word buk (book).
Decline the place name Helsinki

2 Responses to “Volapük: Lesson 2/Volapük: Tiodem Tel”

  1. Psi-Lord said

    Totally off topic, if you’ll excuse me, but I couldn’t help thinking of it… Any reasons why ‘Tyler’ becomes ‘Kileki’ instead of, say, ‘Kileka’. I mean, I’ve never studied Hawaiian (except for some really, really, really basics years ago), and so, by checking transliterated names, I got the impression the buffering vowel was always A (even if my native Portuguese sense screams ‘FEMALE!’ when names end in it), so I was curious about yours ending in I here. After all, if I find a way to escape being ‘Malakela’ myself, I’ll probably take it!😀

  2. time traveler said

    Does this language use the locative or vocative cases?
    *If not, why isn’t the language fully inflected and why don’t they use these particular cases?*

Leave a Reply

 
