Meanderings of an Amateur Linguist

Just me and my languages – a dangerous combonation

Updated Wish List

Posted by ILuvEire on February 25, 2009

Oh…wow. Things have changed! If you’re curious, this, is my old language list, as of 11/32/08. Now here’s a draft of my new language list:

Japanese: This is my main focus for now. I’ve been working at it for a couple of weeks, and I plan to keep it up! When I make it to a upper intermediate level I’ll start on onr of these other languages. I’m predicting that to be in a few months.

After Japanese I plan to learn more languages from (South)East Asia. The languages on the top of my list are Mandarin and Vietnamese. Other languages I am looking into in this region are Thai and Hmong.

Besides languages from this area, I plan to continue with my Cherokee, and Italian. I want to get to be conversational in Cherokee and fluent in Italian. Also I learned Norwegian for a month…but I think I want to switch to Swedish when I pick it up again. I’ve gotten myself interested in Finnish and Finland for a while, and it seems stupid to learn Norwegian and Finnish, plus I much prefer the Swedish of Finland to the Swedish of Sweden.🙂

Then we have Albanian and Georgian. I learned the basics of both these languages and REALLY want to get back to them. I don’t know when I will, but I will definitely get back to them. They are both beautiful and I love them.

The last portion of my language learning list includes smaller languages. I want to learn Swahili, Zulu, and Hawaiian. I have a huge interest in all of these languages, and someday I wish to learn them. This will make up the bottom of my list, and is subject the change (which I’m sure there will be some).

All-in-all my list goes like this:

1 Japanese
2 Mandarin
3 Vietnamese
4 Thai
(Hmong)
5 Cherokee
6 Italian
7 Swedish
(Finnish)
9 Albanian
10 Georgian
(Swahili)
(Zulu/Xhosa)
(Hawaiian)

The parentheses’d ones are on my “maybe/maybe not” list, for whatever reason.

There ya’ go. Comment away!

4 Responses to “Updated Wish List”

  1. Psi-Lord said

    Hmong? Talk about exoticism!😀

    As for native languages of the Americas, the closest I can get to studying one is picking (Old) Tupi, but, although I may have fun with dead languages, the pleasure eventually dies out – usually when I want to shift from a passive to an active role. Besides, materials are usually quite outdated. Any living native language around me (such as Kaingang) would still be far from a learning option. A real pity.

    I had my Swedish phase as well. I started with Danish, actually, years ago, but the phonology versus orthography (lack of) balance eventually made me put it aside. Then, later, I gave Norwegian a try, but I somehow disliked the orthography and the endless discussions on how none of the standards is a real language per se. Swedish then became the jewel of my Scandinavian crown for quite a while.

    I’d also go for Swahili and Hawaiian if I had to, but, for some reason, neither belongs to language families that appeal to me.

  2. Meera said

    Nice list of langs🙂

  3. Diogenes said

    Wow, you’re ambitious🙂 Good luck, though we’ll miss you on the Norwegian forum.

  4. Diogenes said

    Oops, I mistyped my website in my previous comment.
    By the way, where are you finding resources for Albanian and Georgian?

Leave a Reply

 
